Guest Comments

 

Reviews from Holiday Rentals and Chez Nous

 

Leigh and Mark:
What a lovely location perfectly placed for exploring the local area. We had a great time relaxing by the river swimming, having a picnic and generally relaxing even with 2 small kids in tow. Amanda and Mark were wonderful host a pleasure to be around and just so welcoming. Thank you for letting us use your lovely old winery for our first family holiday.

September 2011

 

The surroundings are blissful  We wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed staying in your lovely house. The surroundings are blissful, with the river at your feet, and we enjoyed many happy swims here and at various points down the Orb Valley: the vertiginous rocks and deep pools at Reals are a favourite from previous years with everyone in the family from adults to teenagers. Vieussan itself was delightful too with its bridge and hobbit-sized hamlet clinging to the rock to explore. Beziers is clearly a fascinating small city but was rather busy due to the bull-fighting weekend.


We bought bread from the bakery at the garage/general store on the road to Mons Trivalle, and we had the best pizzas ever at the little pizzeria 'Chez Gilou' in Olargues, and then enjoyed looking round the studio of the Belgian portrait painter round the corner. There was also a small folk rock festival there, and the place had a nice relaxed vibe.


Last but not least the owners' representative was charming, friendly and responded to questions promptly on the couple of occasions we needed him.


All in all a perfect week, probably the nicest holiday home we've ever stayed in and we will be recommending your gites to friends and family.

August 2011

 

Reviews from Holiday Rentals

 

Perfect - everything we expected and more
tony London, UK

Review Submitted: September 13, 2010 Date of Stay: August 2010

 

We were bowled over with this house. When you book a holiday online, you're always nervous about whether it will live up to the description and pics. If anything, these guys don't do the place justice!

 

From the moment we booked to the moment we left, the owners were friendly, helpful, attentive. You'll get all the advice you need.

 

The house was even better than we hoped - the pics don't do it justice (put more up!). The garden is heaven. A lovely big drop through 3 terraces (each with seating, tables etc) to the secluded riverbank, it's just amazing. The view is stunning, the peace is wonderful. We spent most of our time down by the river (where you can swim and canoe); it's like a different world down there. But we also filled up on figs and grapes from the garden. Picking your own figs and eating them for breakfast - that's a brilliant thing to be able to do.

 

The owners have taken the time to put together a full info pack with tips on places to go (and avoid!), but the full kitchen (you don't need to bring anything with you) and local markets mean you can happily cook or BBQ in the house.

 

This is probably my first holiday where I've had no complaints at all. Amanda & Mark will give you any help and advice you need, won't interfere with your enjoyment, and have lots of experience of the area (they even gave us some fantastic tips about our drive to Barcelona, which is 3-4 hours away). You couldn't wish for better hosts. Our only regret is that we didn't manage to invite them to have dinner with us.

 

The area is stunning, and the local bar/cafe (Le Lezard Bleu) is great, with an English-speaking owner who is really helpful. The "menu du jour" is worth having - if you book, make sure you tell them you want it, as they sell out quickly. It's 2 minutes from the house, so if you need a break from drinking beer in the garden, take a wander over the old bridge and have one there. Apart from that, you will DEFINITELY need a car for this house, as it's wonderfully remote. And you'll want to get to Saint-Chinian market on the Sunday to stock up on cheese and bread.

 

There's not much more to say, apart from: We will be back (maybe that's the highest recommendation you can give). That, and keep the mosquito nets closed (and bring citronella candles to keep out the midges!) - you won't have any trouble as long as you do that.

 

Thanks, Amanda & Mark, for a wonderful time.


Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

 

Owner's Response: What can we say except thank you!


Rating
5 out of 5

 

Old Wine Makers, Vieussan
eleanor England
Review Submitted: August 28, 2010 Date of Stay: August 2010


The Old Winemakers House is in a peaceful and stunning location. It has been beautifully converted and is well appointed. The river is fantastic to swim in, clear with a shallow beach and a deeper centre for swimming. Our children really enjoyed it. The master bedroom is a really good size, the other bedrooms a little cramped. The kids used the ping pong table every day! We had a great time and have no complaints.


Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway


Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.


Owner Submitted Review
Very well equipped
Review Submitted: June 25, 2010 Date of Stay: June 2010

 

Gite very well equipped - coffee makers, knife sharpener etc. Good beds and linen, etc. Spacious. Interesting location. Like outside BBQ area.

Rating
5 out of 5

 

Beautiful gite in stunning setting
The Lough Swimmer! Co. Down, N. Ireland
Review Submitted: June 21, 2010 Date of Stay: June 2010


We've just returned from two weeks at La Roque and cannot recommend it highly enough. The gite itself is in a stunning position above the river Orb. The view from the living area across the river to the village of Vieussan is just beautiful. It is perfectly comfortable and well equipped, with wonderful terraced gardens running down to the river where you can dip right in for a swim. The owners who live above are wonderful - so nice and helpful, yet not at all intrusive. We have never visited this part of France before and have to say it is definitely an area we will return to. The Orb valley is stunning and totally unspoilt. There is so much to do in the immediate vicinity including some amazing walks and great canoe trips. We travelled further afield but at the end of the day always enjoyred returning to the valley. Good options for food and shopping throughout the area too. Highly recommended. Thank you Amanda and Mark.


Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway


Owner's Response: We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

 

Owner Submitted Review
Family from Holland
Review Submitted: May 24, 2010 Date of Stay: May 2010


We liked a lot the house, garden, bedrooms, furniture, style, etc.!! It is nicer in reality than on the site! Much greener, nice rooms. We had a very nice time and will recommend your address to our friends. Our children loved it also very much. They could play as much and free as they liked! Lots of love from us, see you next year.


Wonderful
Kavita London
Review Submitted: July 31, 2009 Date of Stay: June 2009


My husband and I stayed at Le Roque for a week in June 2009 and had a wonderful time. The property itself has been sensitively renovated so although there are all mod-cons (even a dishwasher) you also never forget that you are in the south of France staying in a winemakers house. We loved it. The garden was beautiful and the private river beach amazing. Now I’ve written this I want to be back there!

 

The owners are lovely; they live in their own house separate from the gite and we never saw or heard them, but it was useful to know they were just a few meters away if we did need anything.

 

Overall, brilliant experience and it comes highly reccomended.

p.s the bar across the river is def worth a stroll across to if only for their incredible selection of beers!

 

Vieussan
Jan en familie Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Review Submitted: May 17, 2009 Date of Stay: April 2009


As we travel to Vieussan more often because of family visits, we didn't find a house as well situated (along the river), as well renovated(as it was an old wine-cave, the wine-press is still there) and as nice as this one.


Besides a large livingroom with an open kitchen there are 3 nice bedrooms, a large bathroom with a good shower and a big open space with a ping-pong table, which our children enjoyed very much.


When we arrived the beds were already made and the whole place was cleaned up very well. The owners of the house gave us a warm welcome.
The house is situated along the river Orb just over the bridge that leads to the villages Boisseson and Berlou. From the livingroom you have a beautiful view on the village of Vieussan. The garden goes down in several terrasses to the river where you will find a personal beach and also two hammocks.


Just threehundred meters away, on the other side of the river, you can find the cafe\restaurant Le Lézard Bleu, where you can eat very good meals and taste wines of the region.


We enjoyed our stay very much and we can recommend it to everybody.

just perfect


knerf amsterdam, nederland
Review Submitted: November 14, 2008 Date of Stay: July 2008


We, 2 children and us, had a wonderful week in the old winary. The house is spacious and cool, even when it is hot outside. The view from the windows overlooking the river took my breath away. The garden going down to the river is exiting and we had a daily swim in the river.


And the couple running the house are wonderfull. They are there for you, but the also know how to stay away. We will definetaly return to this super place.

fam. Hardonk
summer 2007